Home Special Events Vancouver Free Outdoor Movie Calendar

Vancouver Free Outdoor Movie Calendar

Free Outdoor Movie Calendar

Dozens of movies are shown for free each summer around Vancouver including in Stanley Park, at Canada Place, on the North Shore and various other locations.

Folks bring blankets, lawn chairs, family and friends to enjoy the outdoor entertainment. Most free outdoor movies were cancelled in 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic and many were in 2021 as well. There are not as many as pre-pandemic in 2022 but there are still a number to enjoy.

 


OUTDOOR MOVIES AND COVID-19

Due to the outbreak of COVID-19, most outdoor movie events were cancelled in 2020. As of the summer of 2021, provincial health guidelines had begun to loosen. This allowed some outdoor movies to take place. Many of the big, usual events, however, were not able to happen. Hopefully more will be able to happen in 2022.


 

Free Outdoor Movies in Vancouver

Below is the list of free outdoor movies set to take place in 2022, as of May 2022. More should be added in the coming weeks and given the relative uncertainty that COVID brings, they were obviously all subject to change (but hopefully will all take place as scheduled)!

 


Free June Movies in 2022


 

Here is the list of outdoor movies showing in June of 2022.

 

June 23 (Thursday) Movie

  • Deckchair Cinema – Carts of Darkness shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 

July 30 (Thursday) Movie

  • Deckchair Cinema – Cleo from 5 to 7 shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 


Free July Movies in 2022


 

Here is the list of outdoor movies showing in July of 2022.

 

July 5 (Tuesday) Movie

 

July 7 (Thursday) Movies

  • Summer Movie NightsMean Girls shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Deckchair Cinema – Persepolis shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 

July 8 (Friday) Movies

 

July 12 (Tuesday) Movie

 

July 14 (Thursday) Movies

  • Summer Movie NightsJumanji shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Deckchair Cinema – Smoke Signals shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 

July 16 (Saturday) Movies

  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – Peter Rabbit shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

 

July 19 (Tuesday) Movie

 

July 21 (Thursday) Movies

  • Summer Movie NightsSpider-Man: No Way Home shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Deckchair Cinema – Enter the Dragon shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 

July 23 (Saturday) Movies

  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – Grease shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

 

July 26 (Tuesday) Movie

 

July 28 (Thursday) Movies

  • Summer Movie NightsMoulin Rouge shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Deckchair Cinema – Hairspray shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.
  • Movie Under the Stars – Black Panther shows in the River District in South Vancouver.

 

July 30 (Saturday) Movies

  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – Jumaji: Welcome to the Jungle shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

 


Free August Movies in 2022


 

Here is the list of outdoor movies showing in August of 2022.

 

August 2 (Tuesday) Movies

 

August 3 (Wednesday) Movies

 

August 4 (Thursday) Movies

  • Summer Movie NightsSpace Jam shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Deckchair Cinema – Summer of Soul shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 

August 9 (Tuesday) Movie

  • Stanley Park Summer CinemaFerris Bueller’s Day Off shows for free on one of the largest outdoor screens in the Lower Mainland.

 

August 11 (Thursday) Movies

  • Summer Movie NightsJurassic Park shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Deckchair Cinema – Paprika shows for free at Cates Deck in North Vancouver.

 

August 12 (Friday) Movie

  • Burnaby Outdoor Movie SeriesClifford the Big Red Dog shows outdoors at the Bob Prittie Library by Metrotown at 6100 Willingdon Avenue at around 8:30 pm.

 

August 16 (Tuesday) Movie

 

August 17 (Wednesday) Movies

 

August 18 (Thursday) Movie

 

August 19 (Friday) Movie

  • Burnaby Outdoor Movie SeriesPaddington 2 shows outdoors at the Bob Prittie Library by Metrotown at 6100 Willingdon Avenue at around 8:30 pm.

 

August 20 (Saturday) Movie

 

August 23 (Tuesday) Movie

 

August 24 (Wednesday) Movies

 

August 25 (Thursday) Movie

 

August 26 (Friday) Movie

  • Burnaby Outdoor Movie SeriesShaun the Sheep Movie shows outdoors at the Bob Prittie Library by Metrotown at 6100 Willingdon Avenue at around 8:30 pm.

 

August 31 (Wednesday) Movies

 


Free September Movies in 2022


 

Here is the list of outdoor movies showing in September of 2022.

 

September 2 (Friday) Movie

  • Burnaby Outdoor Movie SeriesRon’s Gone Wrong shows outdoors at the Bob Prittie Library by Metrotown at 6100 Willingdon Avenue at around 8:30 pm.

 

Waterfront Cinema at Canada Place
Waterfront Cinema at Canada Place

 

Free Outdoor Movies in 2021

Below was the list of free outdoor movies that took place in 2021. 2022 details may be similar.

 


Free July Movies in 2021


 

Here is the list of outdoor films that showed on various days in July 2021:

July 23 (Friday) Movie

  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – Jurassic Park shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

July 29 (Thursday) Movie

  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – Raya & The Last Dragon shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

July 30 (Friday) Movie

  • Abbotsford Agrifair – Jurassic Park shows as part of the Agrifair festival at Abbotsford Exhibition Park.
  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – The Lion King shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

July 31 (Saturday) Movie

  • Abbotsford Agrifair – Back to the Future shows as part of the Agrifair festival at Abbotsford Exhibition Park.

 

Movie Night in Art Gallery Plaza
Movie Night in the Vancouver Art Gallery Plaza

 


Free August Movies in 2021


 

Here is the list of outdoor films that showed on various days in August 2021:

August 1 (Sunday) Movie

  • Abbotsford Agrifair – Toy Story 4 shows as part of the Agrifair festival at Abbotsford Exhibition Park.

August 4 (Wednesday) Movie

  • New Westminster – Bohemian Rhapsody shows in the City Hall parking lot.

August 5 (Thursday) Movie

  • Lansdowne Centre – Star Wars: Rise of Skywalker shows in the Lansdowne Centre parking lot.

August 6 (Friday) Movie

  • Fresh Air Cinema BC – Jaws shows at Semiahmoo Park in White Rock.

 

Free Outdoor Concerts

 

August 12 (Thursday) Movie

  • Lansdowne Centre – Avengers: Endgame shows in the Lansdowne Centre parking lot.

August 18 (Wednesday) Movie

  • New Westminster – Goonies shows in the City Hall parking lot.

August 19 (Thursday) Movie

  • Lansdowne Centre – Raya & The Last Dragon shows in the Lansdowne Centre parking lot.

August 26 (Thursday) Movie

  • Lansdowne Centre – National Treasure shows in the Lansdowne Centre parking lot.

 

Sunset Cinema on Granville Street
Sunset Cinema in the Queen Elizabeth Theatre Plaza

 


Free September Movies in 2021


 

Here is the list of outdoor films showing on various days in September 2021:

September 1 (Wednesday) Movie

  • New Westminster – Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade shows on the Queens Park Stadium Field.

September 2 (Thursday) Movie

September 9 (Thursday) Movie

 

Stanley Park Cinema
Stanley Park Outdoor Cinema

 

September 15 (Wednesday) Movie

  • New Westminster – Ferdinand shows on the Queens Park Stadium Field.

September 16 (Thursday) Movie

 

Other Information

For a list of films organized by location, click Summer Outdoor Movies.

For other ideas on things to do in July and August, check out the Events Calendar.

Other articles that might be of interest include the following: