Home Special Events Vancouver Free Outdoor Movie Calendar

Vancouver Free Outdoor Movie Calendar

Free Outdoor Movie Calendar

Dozens of movies are shown for free each summer around Vancouver including in Stanley Park, at Canada Place, on the North Shore and various other locations.

Folks bring blankets, lawn chairs, family and friends to enjoy the outdoor entertainment.

Free Outdoor Movies in Vancouver

Below is a list of free outdoor movies taking place in the Lower Mainland.

2019 Free Outdoor Movies (in Chronological Order)

The following movies in 2019 all start at dusk (unless otherwise stated) and are listed in chronological order.

If you want to see the list organized by location, click SUMMER OUTDOOR MOVIES and you’ll see what’s showing at Stanley Park, Canada Place, West Vancouver, North Vancouver, Richmond, Surrey and other locations over the course of the summer.

Note: Featured movies, times and locations are subject to change.

Theatre Under the Stars 2019

Free July Movies in 2019

Here is the list of upcoming outdoor films showing on various days in July 2019:

July 12 (Friday) Movie

Waterfront Cinema at Canada Place
Waterfront Cinema at Canada Place

July 16 (Tuesday) Movie

July 17 (Wednesday) Movie

  • Starlight Theatre at Lansdowne Centre – a free movie shows in Richmond. Watch from your car or your lawn chair! Tonight’s film is Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse.
  • Summer Movie Nights – Zoolander shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Sunset Cinema – tonight’s feature film in the Queen Elizabeth Theatre Plaza is Crazy Rich Asians.

July 18 (Thursday) Movie

July 19 (Friday) Movie

Kidsworld Program

July 23 (Tuesday) Movie

July 24 (Wednesday) Movie

  • Starlight Theatre at Lansdowne Centre – a free movie shows in Richmond. Watch from your car or your lawn chair! Tonight’s film is The Notebook.
  • Summer Movie Nights – Paddington Bear shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Sunset Cinema – tonight’s feature film in the Queen Elizabeth Theatre Plaza is Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse.
Movie Night in Art Gallery Plaza
Movie Night in the Vancouver Art Gallery Plaza

July 25 (Thursday) Movie

July 26 (Friday) Movie

July 29 (Monday) Movies

July 30 (Tuesday) Movies

July 31 (Wednesday) Movie

  • Starlight Theatre at Lansdowne Centre – a free movie shows in Richmond. Watch from your car or your lawn chair! Tonight’s film is Batman: The Dark Knight.
  • Sunset Cinema – tonight’s feature film in the Queen Elizabeth Theatre Plaza is Dumbo (2019).

Free Outdoor Concerts

Free August Movies in 2019

The following films are scheduled for August in 2019:

August 1 (Thursday) Movie

August 2 (Friday) Movie

  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is The Green Book.

August 3 (Saturday) Movie

  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is Crazy Rich Asians.

August 4 (Sunday) Movie

  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is The Incredibles 2.
  • Tsawwassen Sun Festival – a community festival that features the movie Grease in the evening.

August 5 (Monday) Movie

  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is Indian Horse.

August 6 (Tuesday) Movie

  • Stanley Park Summer Cinema Finding Nemo shows for free on one of the largest outdoor screens in the Lower Mainland.
  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is Free Solo.

August 7 (Wednesday) Movie

  • Starlight Theatre at Lansdowne Centre – a free movie shows in Richmond. Watch from your car or your lawn chair! Tonight’s film is Aquaman.
  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.
  • Summer Movie NightsTeenage Mutant Turtles shows in the Vancouver Art Gallery Square.
  • Sunset Cinema – tonight’s feature film in the Queen Elizabeth Theatre Plaza is Captain Marvel.
Sunset Cinema on Granville Street
Sunset Cinema in the Queen Elizabeth Theatre Plaza

August 8 (Thursday) Movie

  • Waterfront Cinema at Canada Place – a free movie at the northern end of the Canada Place promenade. Today’s feature film is Beauty & the Beast 
  • Burnaby Outdoor Movie SeriesMary Poppins Returns shows outdoors at the Bob Prittie Library by Metrotown at 6100 Willingdon Avenue at around 8:30 pm.
  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is The Truman Show.
  • Cinema Under the StarsE.T. plays in Abbotsford at the Rotary Stadium.

August 9 (Friday) Movie

August 10 (Saturday) Movie

  • Harmony Arts Festival – West Vancouver’s summer arts festival features a free evening movie at John Lawson Park. Tonight’s film is Top Gun.

August 13 (Tuesday) Movie

  • Stanley Park Summer Cinema Harry Potter & the Prisoner of Azkaban shows for free on one of the largest outdoor screens in the Lower Mainland.

Vancouver Entertainment Coupon Book Banner Ad

August 14 (Wednesday) Movie

August 15 (Thursday) Movie

August 20 (Tuesday) Movie

Stanley Park Cinema
Stanley Park Outdoor Cinema

August 21 (Wednesday) Movie

August 22 (Thursday) Movie

August 23 (Friday) Movie

August 24 (Saturday) Movie

August 28 (Wednesday) Movie

August 29 (Thursday) Movie

Other Information

For a list of films organized by location, click Summer Outdoor Movies.

For other ideas on things to do in July and August, check out the Events Calendar.